4 Cloud Initiation

Standard

Today I ventured into “The Cloud.”  This epic place where all your data can be stored.  I experimented with Diigo and Symbaloo.  I ultimately decided on Symbaloo because I feel like it is very kid friendly.  I wanted to create a page so my students would be able to easily access sites we will use on a regular basis next year when they have their chrome books.  Click here to see my Symbaloo Webmix for my students to use.

Too funny! :)

Too funny! 🙂

I also created a new dropbox account for school.  I already had one for personal use.  Our district is really pushing us to use Google Drive as our “cloud.”  So I am not sure how much I will use dropbox, but I am glad I have it as an option.

Here are links to 3 of my documents I uploaded to dropbox:

Our Promise to Each Other

Estimation Word Problems

Graphic Organizer

This “Thing” has reminded me that “The Cloud” is a great tool for collaboration.  Using dropbox or google drive, I can share endless documents and files with my co-workers.  My team and I spent a lot of time this past year collaborating on the creation of math units.  Going through this module made me realize that we really should have used this technology.  It would have been of great benefit to us and our students.  I believe utilizing “The Cloud” this fall will make collaborating and unit creation much easier.  I am also over the moon excited to use Symbaloo with my students!  Having them type in URLs to locate specific websites can be such a hassle.  I am posting my Webmix on my classroom webpage so my students can easily access all the sites we use on a regular basis.  Using this technology will greatly increase our class’ efficiency when completing tasks online.

Cloud Initiation involves many of the CITW9 strategies.  However, the one that really sticks out to me is cooperative learning.  Using cloud technologies, teachers and students can easily collaborate with one another.  Sharing social bookmarks and files using cloud resources truly supports cooperative learning.  Cloud resources also enable us to store and share documents for homework and practice. Learning about Cloud resources supports ISTE Teacher Standard 3 (Model Digital Age Work and Learning).  I look forward to modeling use of the cloud for my co-workers and my students.

A Wordle all about The Cloud :)

A Wordle all about The Cloud 🙂

Leave a Reply

